An Artful Weekend!

100_1797

Julia McCann of My Speaker Box

100_1798

Martina Morton and Nikki Rehmert

I was  a busy lady last weekend taking in the arts, talking to artists/crafters and interviewing.  Saturday I made it to both the Ohio Made event and the Westerville Music and Arts Festival.  Despite the warm weather, there were lots of folks out perusing the shows and just generally, enjoying a weekend without rain!  Ohio Made was sponsored and organized by the Ohio Art League and was spread throughout the Ohio Historic Village.  There were local musicians playing bluegrass and they even had a turn-of-the-century baseball game taking place in the field outside the village.  Several artisans were placed in strategic locations both outside and inside the buildings in the village along with an informational table for OAL.  I was pleased to meet so many artists and explain my blog, get their cards and discuss possible features.

100_1801

Jen Sadler

In the evening I made my way over the hill from my home to take in the Westerville Music and Arts Festival.  Music was in the air and lots of tents dotted the walkways throughout Heritage Park.  Vendors ranged from pottery and lawn ornaments to jewelry and hair accessories.

614 mixer

talking with Tona Pearson of Art Party

Sunday was awesome…first, I went to visit Karen Buoncristiano of Crafty by Nature.  I first met Karen through Etsy and then ran into her at Green on the Green in Worthington.  While there, I sampled her Skin Repair and feel in love with it!  It is the first cream I’ve used on my feet that left them feeling soft and heeled the cracks.  In addition to making lotions, creams and soaps, she and her hubby, Nick, make beautiful pottery.  I spent two hours with her, watching her create a lovely vase and discussing her process.

Following that, I drove down to Short North for the second social mixer for the Facebook group The Art and Artists of 614 at the Short North Tavern.  What a wonderful gathering of so many artistically talented folks!  Thanks to Walter Hermann of Studio 75 ( creator of the 614 group) and Helen Zopol of the tavern, we had a lovely spread of appetizers and lots of opportunities to connect with each other.  Can’t wait for the next get together!

And stay tuned this week as I work on posts about both Walter and Karen.

Leave a Reply

