Whew!!!!

Okay, I haven’t posted since last week this time but I have been a busy bee this week!  I just posted about the lovely Heather Ziegler from What the Rock?! store in Short North’s Garden District.  In addition, I started a post on Chad Cochran of 614 artists, I interviewed Tona Pearson (Art Party co-founder and artist with studio at 400 West Rich) and Kristin Ellis of Silver Flame jewelry, worked on the upcoming Falling for Local: An Ohio Artisan Market event…I am co-hosting with Franklin Park Conservatory and coordinating vendors for this event in October… saw kiddoes for private speech therapy, did 2 spin classes, walked my dog lots of times, unpacked my car from a motorcycle rally/swap meet/camping trip with my honey in Eastern Ohio and tried to sleep!!!!!!100_1859

I have to say, I am loving all of this!  I feel such gratitude for my life now and wonder how in the HELL I EVER got anything done when I worked full-time as a Speech Pathologist…oh, yeah, I was younger!!!!!  As I sit here enjoying a glass of chardonnay while the breeze wafts through my dining room, I am reflecting on all that has happened since I started this blog a mere 2 months ago.  I have met sooooo very many talented and interesting people, have had the opportunity to learn about their creative processes and have been awed by the abundance of creativity that inhabits my adopted hometown of Columbus Ohio (well, I AM still a Steel City girl and avid Steeler fan…sorry to  all of you who are dyed in the wool OSU and Ohio teams supporters! Yinz hafta understand that, OK?)…I DO have enough room in my heart to love this Cowtown, too!100_1867

I am so excited that soon I will be posting articles about the aforementioned artists and have several folks in line for features.  I am looking forward to meeting more creative folks in the near future and am thoroughly psyched about the Falling for Local event.  I will be posting more about that and you can check out more about our vendors after September 1st.  I think it will be a wonderful show with such varied talents in an amazing venue (I like it so much that I got married there the second time…Ok, we won’t talk about how my love for that place has continued even though the marriage ended!!!)

We have an extraordinary artistic community here in Columbus that I am proud to be a part of and want to promote as much as possible!

I hope that you will continue to follow me on my journey to learn more, meet more people and maybe even get back into my own studio…have a wonderful weekend… oh, and while you’re out riding around check out these events!

food trucksFood Truck Festival:  The Columbus Commons, 160 S. High Street, Columbus, OH

Festivities begin at noon tomorrow and end at 10 pm on Saturday

What:

The festival offers over 45 of central Ohio’s best food trucks and carts, over 30 arts and crafts vendors, Live Music all day both days, onsite beer sales, games for kids and families, and raffle prizes with a portion of the proceeds benefiting Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Ohio. Free admission for everyone and all ages welcome.

DJ Matt Sexton will be spinning all day.

thrillThrill Vulture Tattooing, 30 West College Avenue in Westerville, is putting on their First Punk Rock Flea Market! Come one Come All!  They will  have a kick ass list of people selling a wide variety from hand made arts, home products, clothes, collectibles, and anyone’s old junk that might be your treasure!

2-8 p.m. Sunday, August 18

Urban Scrawl will celebrate it’s 7th year in 2013!!urban scrawl

 Urban Scrawl is a 2-day festival that features the live creation of murals by Columbus artists, performances by local musicians, DJs, and break dancers. Since 2006 Urban Scrawl has provided Columbus artists a way to flex their creative muscle and participate in Central Ohio’s largest ongoing urban renewal project. Each year the number of participants, panels, sponsors and attendees grows making this a landmark Summer event in Columbus, Ohio. Once the panels are completed they are weather sealed and mounted in cooperation with Franklinton businesses to help enliven the re-growing community of Franklinton, Central Ohio’s historic first settlement. Panels not hung are auctioned off at Go West! to raise money for arts grants outreach programs in the neighborhood.

400 West Rich Street

12-10 p.m. Saturday August 17                                  12-6 p.m. Sunday August 1

strong waterStrongwater opens its doors to preview the new Bar and Gallery at 401 West Town. While enjoying Urban Scrawl, stop by and try some of the delicious food coming out of the kitchen, imbibe in equally satisfying drinks from the bar all while enjoying art from 400’s resident artists: Sue Cavanaugh, Stephen Takacs, Christin Hutchinson and GavIn Bruce… just a taste of what’s to come.
Then, after the art outside ends for the day, pop back in for fun and dancing with YEAH Babies and DJ Adam Scoppa!!!

12-2 a.m. Saturday

northmarket

The North Market is hosting it’s 22nd Annual Farmers’ Festival on Saturday, August 17th at 59 Spruce Street in Columbus. The annual event held at the prime of the Ohio growing season will highlight bushels of locally grown farm-fresh produce, a Homemade Jam and Jelly Contest, the Local Matters Corn Roast, Holy Smoke BBQ Pig Roast and a Grilled Cheese Throwdown.

The Farmers’ Festival runs on Saturday, August 17 from 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. and is a free event.

cols arts ballSaturday, August 17th 2013
Doors Open at 6:30 PM
Doors Close at 11:00 PM
At The Columbus Zoo

The Columbus Arts Ball is a fundraising, masquerade ball that raises money for a notable cause each year.  This year proceeds benefit Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Ohio.   Patrons come out from all over the Central Ohio area in black and white semi-formal attire with colorful mask to listen and dance to 80’s and 90’s music, live entertainment like fire breathers and speed paintings, bid on silent auction items, support the year’ cause and view amazing artwork tied to the cause.

taco catJoin Tacocat Exposed, for their  first exhibition in the Tacocat Gallery which will feature the work of co-operative members.

Studios will be open for the public to visit and view.
Artwork will be available for purchase and snacks will be on hand. Doors will be open to the public on Saturday August 17 (5pm-9pm) and Sunday 18th (noon – 5pm).

                                                               937 Burrell,  Grandview Heights

Leave a Reply

