Labor Day Weekend Was NOT Laborious!

Wow!  Hard to believe that it was almost 90 2 days ago and now I have to sleep with a blanket???  What is it that they say about Columbus…if you don’t like the weather now, hang around and it will change in the next few hours!

alt fash mob 1That being said, the last week has been filled with lots of great experiences.  Last week I went to the Alternative Fashion Mob’s Recruitment event at Rehab Tavern in Franklinton.  I had some yummy appetizers and Dark and Stormies (my summer go-to beverage this year!) while listening to Fashion Mobsters talk about what they needed help with for next year’s event.  I have volunteered to be their blog-mistress and am super-psyched at the possibility.  If you would like more information about the happenings for next year or would like to volunteer, contact one of the Mobsters through their FB page at:

https://www.facebook.com/AlternativeFashionMob

My honey was in town for the holiday weekend and we enjoyed sitting in front of the chimnea, cooking out, lazing on the screened porch and heading out for a road trip to Delaware…one of my fav little towns in Central Ohio.  while there, we explored one of the antique malls, walked around, hung out at Beehive Bookstore (love that place and their mosaic outside walls!) beehivethen headed down the street to the new beer aficionado’s hang out (sorry don’t remember the name) to find a plethora of beers!!!  OMG, they even had chocolate stout…yes, chocolate!!!  Needless to say, considering my guy equals chocoholic to the nth degree, we bought a bottle to try at home…yummy but still tasted like beer to both of us!

On Labor Day, we hit the Upper Arlington Labor Day Art’s Festival. Another OMG!  Having spent most of my career working in UA, I have been aware of the event for a long time and remember attending it back when but, man, it has grown!!!  The last time I was there was around 20 years ago I’m ashamed to say and it was a much smaller ua arts festvenue.  On Monday, there were 150+ vendors, food, drinks, music, 2 stages and lots to explore.  I saw some familiar faces but also saw some incredible art from Columbus and other states as far away as FLA!  Although it was hot and steamy, it was fun to get back to this event and I will definitely not wait another 20+ years to return!!!

So, the weekend was relaxing and cooler weather is here so now it’s time to get back to work on my blog and some other upcoming events!!! In addition to sharing some exciting news about my collaborative event with Franklin Park Conservatory,  I will soon be writing about Kelli Martin of the Alternative Fashion Mob and Anti-Label; Kristin Ellis of Silverflame Jewelry; Amy Leibrand artist of The Art and Artists of 614;   Olivia Jo St. Claire of O, Joy Photography and Martina Rostorfer Morton of Pottery Heaven so check back soon!

Leave a Reply

