Happy Fall Y’all!!!

After seeing my sweetie leave to go back home to WV, my favorite girl, Aroon,  and I grabbed a Pumpkin Spice Latte (me) and whipped cream in a pup cup (her) and made our way to Whetstone and the Olentangy Trail.  The last vestiges of summer were apparent…people of all ages walking, running, biking and soaking up the rays on this glorious first day of fall.  Although it was cool outside, that didn’t seem to hamper folks from enjoying outdoors activities and Aroon and I were happy to be among them!  It was a perfect culmination to a active weekend.

my girl, Aroon

my girl, Aroon

Our weekend actually started with a trip up north to Delaware.  I love that little town and we had so much fun eating lunch at the locally well-known Buns Restaurant (opened in 1864!), exploring the three antique stores in town and the Choffey Coffee Shop, walking around and eventually ending up at 1808 American Bistro for Long Island Iced Teas.  Ron scored some antique glasses to add to his collection and I got some pretty cool ads from the 1920’s-30’s to use in my art.  Both the bistro and Buns were delightful and I want to go back to them soon.

A compilation of our weekend from Delaware to downtown Columbus to Whetstone!

A compilation of our weekend from Delaware to downtown Columbus to Whetstone!

Although the rain got lots of vendors soggy in the morning yesterday, the day turned out a be an ideal day for both the Worthington Market Day and Independents’ Day.  I took in the Market Day with a couple of lady friends after brunch at PK O’Reilly’s in downtown Worthington.  Lots of people browsing and lots of vendors, food and farmer’s market items!  Ran into several people I know through the arts/crafts community and got to meet Deborah Wright of Genoa Soap (she will be one of the vendors at Falling for Local).

PicMonkey Collage

Later in the day, Ron and I headed down to Independents’ Day and, man, it was hoppin’!  Lots of music, tons of people, vendors, food and libations.  The Alternative Fashion Mob also put on a pretty awesome fashion show featuring local designers…sort of a preview of what is to come at next year’s Alternative Fashion Week.  I saw Angela Pennock (Marang Studio), Rachel Murdock (Artzymorena) and Karen Buonocristiano and hubby Nick Singer (Crafty by Nature) all of whom will be selling their wares at Franklin Park in October!  We ate amazing arepas (all kinds of succulent veggies between 2 grilled corn flour cakes…yum!) at El Arepazo latin Grill while people watching.  Lots of local organizations and businesses were also present including Evolved, Columbus Idea Foundry, What the Rock?!, Cap City Creatives and more.  All I can say is if you have never gone downtown for this event you have to next year!  It truly is a celebration of all things local and the venue shows just how far our fair city has come in the art world!!

With fall, the busy season for most artisans truly begins as they get prepared for all of the shows and fairs that will center around the holidays.  Along with more interviews of local artisans, I will try my best to keep up-to-date with all of these great venues for purchasing unique and artfully made holiday gifts.  Check out The Falling for Local page of my blog for daily updates about the incredibly talented folks that will be joining me at Franklin Park Conservatory for An Ohio Artisan Market on October 12 and 13!

For now, I better get crackin’ with my own creations as I have a multitude of shows this fall and into the holiday season.

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

