Happy Mother’s Day!

IMG_20140506_081951How are you celebrating Mother’s Day?  Guess I’m feeling rather melancholy today as I lost my mom 35 years ago when I was a mere ‘child’ being only 26 and not even ready to lose her (like any of us are EVER ready for this!)  There are so many questions that I have wanted to ask her over the years since she died, so many things I wish I could have experienced with her.  I do know that even though she has been gone all these years, she will always be a part of me.  She passed on so much to me during the short time we were together: a love for reading and writing- she was originally an English teacher;a passion for all kinds of music- she was a very talented vocalist who sang on radio in her hometown, loved Broadway musicals, encouraged me to play the clarinet and piano and cheered me on when I went to District Chorus; creativity that didn’t stop- a seamstress and needle worker- she taught me how to sew, knit, crochet, embroider.and more; gardening- my grandparents were avid gardeners and so was my mom, hence my love of veggies and flowers!  I could go on but I think you get the picture!

I would love to post a picture of her but my scanner is acting up…argggh!  Suffice it to say, she had a huge influence on me and my creative path, along with my maternal grandparents.  I think she would be excited to see all that I have done over the years with the skills she taught me and I also think that she would love reading this blog and encourage me to continue learning about artists, their lives, passions and dreams.

I know she would’ve gotten a real kick out of my explorations on Friday night.  My friend (and artist in her own right along with being a singer extraordinaire), Melissa, and I stopped by the Spring Clintonville Art Crawl first.  Stopped in Pennington Custom Art Services first as they were displaying art by the next featured artist, Deane Arnold…read about him tomorrow!  And, I finally got to meet this talented man!!  We had fun checking out the art, talking to Deane and wife, Debby Wright along with some other folks.  We also got to try out some delectable summer drinks–one of which was cucumber juice and Watershed Distillery’s OYO Gin.20140509_195550

From there, we explored two new businesses, Catbird Seat, an all things vintage clothing shop and The Well Appointed Home, LTD (https://www.facebook.com/thewellappointedhome), a lovely little shop filled with antique home items, imaginative artwork and cordial owners!  I had the opportunity to speak with the owners of both establishments and we all decided that interviews for my blog were on the horizon.  In the meantime, however, if you are in the area, check them both out as they have unique items, are local and need our support!

Catbird Seat

Catbird Seat

20140509_19200220140509_192025

The Well Appointed Home

The Well Appointed Home

20140509_193918Melissa and I hopped in my car and traversed to Franklinton for  Derek Stewart’s Portals exhibition at Rehab Tavern.  What fun!  Saw so many great folks: Tona Pearson, Mylesant Lopez, Jim and DeDe Parker, Ralph Walters …some of these folks are my ‘friends’ on FB but I’ve never met so it was fun finally getting to meet in person!

Derek

Derek

Derek’s show was awesome and he was thrilled with the turn-out.  Melissa and I hung out at the bar and had a fun time shooting tequila with our bartender, John, as well as talking to the Parkers.  It was a fun night out and I look forward to many more like this as the summer will naturally bring more opportunities for art, play and laughter!

And, by the way, thanks to my mom, Sally, for the gifts she gave me…Happy Mother’s Day to all of you!

Jim photo bombing our selfie!

Jim photo bombing our selfie!

Leave a Reply

