Graphically Speaking: Meet Brian Williams

self portrait in vestBrian Williams is another artist who first came to my attention through the FB page, The Art and Artists of 614.  His drawings are absolutely amazing with so much detail and uniqueness that I just had to learn more about him and his art! First, he explained that he uses his middle initial (R.) to distinguish himself in online searches from the other more famous Brian Williams…yes, the NBC anchorman! Born and raised in Akron, Ohio, he moved to Columbus in 1998 to attend CCAD and has lived here ever since.  Getting an internship at the Columbus Museum of Art when he was in college led to a full-time job and started his career in graphic design.  He currently works at Honda of Marysville where he designs ads, signage, posters, banners, etc. as well as a bi-monthly trade magazine for Honda employees. Prior to that, he worked at McGraw-Hill, designing textbooks. As he puts it: My day job is nice in that it gives me the time and money to pursue my artistic and educational interests and goals.brian williams at bexley

brian williams

Although he uses his art background in his 9-5 job, he also creates art in his free time (how I learned about him!).  He categorizes what he creates as  surreal, narrative illustration. My biggest artistic influences are artists who work in a similar vein: Edward Gorey, Chris van Allsburg, René Magritte, Michael Sowa, Don Kenn, Kay Neilsen and Aron Wiesenfeld.  Inspiration frequently comes from reading because “I’m a voracious reader of non-fiction: history (particularly ancient history and 19th & 20th Century history), art history, natural history and biology. ”  He gets a lot of ideas for his artwork from that passion: stories about explorers who disappear into the wilderness, long-lost civilizations, extinct animals, the Industrial Revolution, the rise and fall of empires, and the history of the scientific exploration of the natural world.

Little Phillip

Little Phillip

When asked about his technique, he stated that it’s ‘about as basic as you can get: graphite on paper ‘…his technique ,may be basic but his drawings sure aren’t!  As you can see from the photos I’ve included, his work is so detailed that it is mind boggling! And his advice to other artists is to put in the hours required to master whatever your technique may be, inside and out.

Blackfish Squadron

Blackfish Squadron

I try to always be working on something, even when I’m tired or not really in the mood. I have found that I do my best thinking while I’m actively engaged in the process of creating something. The more I work, the more inspired I become; it’s a positive-feedback loop. As a result, I’m usually working on more than one drawing at a time, because I get too excited about my new idea to wait until I’m finished with my current drawing.

Kiwi Parachute

Kiwi Parachute

He has been selling his prints at Big Cartel (www.brianrwilliams.bigcartel.com) since 2012 and just recently had an exhibit at the Bexley Public Library. In June,  he participated in the Prime 8 Art League Show with his drawing “USS Minke over New York City, 1933”. His Great Auk drawing was published in Ernest Journal, a new magazine and website in the UK.  Woot!!!
Great Auk

Great Auk

 In addition to those venues, he has had work featured on Artnews.com, the Audubon Society blog, and on the cover of Map Magazine, an art and culture magazine in Brisbane, Australia. Most recently, Hi-Fructose Magazine posted one of his drawings on their Facebook and Instagram pages.

U.S.S. Minke over New York City, 1933

U.S.S. Minke over New York City, 1933

Hide Behind

Hide Behind

Great Auk

Great Au

 Contact info for readers:
instagram: grey_graphite
Brian with his Roomie, Jasper

Brian with his Roomie, Jasper

One thought on “Graphically Speaking: Meet Brian Williams

Leave a Reply

