Can’t Get Enough Art!

20140815_132637Boy, the the last three weeks have been a whirlwind with so much to do to get ready for a part-time gig and all of the happenings around town!   On the 12th, I made it to 2 events that I featured.  First, I stopped by the Friends of the Shelter’s PupArt fundraiser/silent auction at the Dublin Arts Council‘s gorgeous facility.  Facility really doesn’t do this place justice! Located on the river on Riverside Drive, it is a veritable castle with winding staircase and lovely rooms that look out onto rolling hills and greenery.  Having never been there, I was in awe of such an inspiring environment.

 

20140812_192635

Adoptable Doggies

20140812_191635

Some of the many works on auction

Not only was the organization hosting a silent auction showcasing donated art works from area artists of all genres (wonderful pieces, BTW) but there was also an exhibit of Emerging Artists featuring Dublin grade school through high school students’ creations.  AND, as I was walking into the building, I artist and friend, Deb DiSalvo there with her son Carson whose photographic work won him an honorable mention.  The kids’ pieces were just as amazing as the adults’ and I was so impressed by the budding creativity to hit the art scene here in Columbus…think I may just have to do an interview with Deb and Carson...my first mom/son interview!!  Oh, and I won one of the paintings I bid on and Friends of the Shelter raised over $7000 to help with sick and injured animals!

 

Carson with his honorable mention

Carson with his honorable mention

 

 

20140812_201152

Mobsters: (left to right) Jefferey Steele, Kelli Martin, Troy Mueller and Rachel Murdock

From there, I hiked down to Franklinton and the Columbus Idea Foundry for a volunteer meeting at The Alternative Fashion Mob’s new space, to be called FABRIC.  This great group of fashion forward folks were recently awarded a $10,000 grant to get an incubator space up and running at CIF.  The Mobsters explained some events that are coming up in the near future…Fashion Meets Music Festival this coming weekend at the Convention Center and then Independents’ Day in September in Franklinton. (They still need volunteers for FMMF, so sign up! http://www.signupgenius.com/go/805094da4af29ab9-volunteers) After the meeting, we got a tour of the space as it stands now…eventually, it will have an areas for photo shoots, make up and hair work , sewing machines/designer and classes in sewing/designing…WOOT!  Stay tuned here for more updates on how the Mob is progressing.20140812_211149

At the end of a very long day, I treated myself to a vegan Reuben and Franklinton Mule at Strongwater!!  Another WOOT!

Then on Friday of the same week, I was fortunate enough to be invited to the Columbus Art Museum for the COVAC monthly meeting (Central Ohio Visual Artist Consortium) thanks to Tricia Maguire, member of Cap City Creatives and Administrative Assistant at the museum… VERY interesting!  Learned a lot about how the experts install art for exhibitions and things that should be taken into consideration when doing an installation.  I also finally got to meet Todd Camp and reconnected with Tammy Perakis Wallace, Assistant Art Director at Ross Art Museum at Ohio Wesleyan, both of whom, I hope to feature here soon!

That evening, I had the pleasure of attending TACOCAT‘s first anniversary show, in Grandview.  All I can say is WOW and more WOW!  I have been to several events at the coop before but this was the first time that I saw an exhibit of only the members.

Larry Doyle's work

Larry Doyle’s work

Catherine Bell Smith's studio

Catherine Bell Smith’s studio

20140815_194503

Adam Brouilette’s Art

The talent in that building is phenomenal and the recent works of these talented folks was amazing.  I got a chance to introduce myself to several of the members that I have not met and hope to feature all of them in the coming months as well as meeting with them in person to learn more about their processes.  Stay tuned soon as I hope to feature Catherine Bell Smith and Larry Doyle very soon!  While there, I also hung out with some other talented folks who will be featured soon…it was another great event at the coop…make sure to stop in some time soon to catch the member exhibit…show runs through September 21st (https://www.facebook.com/events/827836643908317/)

Rob Green's Piece

Rob Green’s Piece

I took a break from the art world for a few days and my girl, Aroon and I checked out the TJ Evans bike trail near Granville, did an 8 mile hike and collapsed after taking loads of pics to ‘play’ with and sweating/panting!

But I was back at it on Tuesday the 19th for another 2 fun events.  The first being AFM’s Wine/Bartender fundraiser at Camelot Cellars.  Another of my fav places and fav folks to hang with.  They had yummy wines and goodies to eat all to help raise more money for all of the cool things AFM wants to do in the near future.

20140819_205014

Mark, Jeff (his b-day, too!) and Kelli

20140819_205426

From there, Kelli Martin, Rachel Murdock and I made our way further south on High Street to the August RAW Columbus event: ALLURE.  Shadowbox was hopping with lots of art, fashion, music and more.  I’ll let the pics speak for themselves…BTW, make-up artist, Bobbi Jo Gonzalez, Aftershock Art, will be featured in October for a month of Halloween type art and events.  Here goes…

Aftershock Art

Aftershock Art

20140819_22071220140819_22490620140819_221817

Lots to see and do at these artistic events and another one is coming up in October so stay tuned for deets on it!

The rest of last week, I spent working and working and getting myself ready for the awesomeness that would be happening at Urban Scrawl over the weekend.  And I was NOT disappointed!  Yowza!  The amount of talent in that outdoor space was beyond awesome!  Despite the heat, humidity and blazing sun, the artists chosen for this year’s event put their hearts into their works. I think it was one of the best Scrawls that I have attended!

Beginning work

Beginning work

PicMonkey Collage more beginnings

More artists starting!

And here are some of the finished and almost finished works!

20140824_143936

W. Ralph Walters and his finished piece

20140824_145723

Christopher Tennant’s just about finished piece

20140824_150035

Mary Barczak’s piece

20140824_145746

Mylesant Lopez’s almost finished piece

 

I wish that I could feature every one of the finished pieces but if you go to:

https://www.facebook.com/events/454991384632766/   I bet you’ll get to see a lot more!  It surely has made me look forward to next year’s offerings!!!

And on my way home on Saturday, I stopped by CrestFest, the south Clintonville neighborhood block party.  Lots of music, art, crafts, food and fun to be had there!  It was a hopping weekend in our capital!

20140823_145624 20140823_145535

Now, back to interviewing artists, checking on events and cleaning my house!  Hope you’ll stop back soon for more fun with the art community here in Columbus as well as getting out there to see the exhibits I featured here.

Leave a Reply

