Independents’ Day, Milk Paint, Chalk and Art…Great Weekends!

The last two weekends have been ideal for outdoor events and I am happy that I was able to take in so many of them!!  I am totally bummed that I couldn’t partake in the events that started my birthday month, like the Gallery Hop, some openings, the gourd fest and more due to some minor surgery…but there is always next week right?

anti.label by Kelli Martin

anti.label by Kelli Martin

AFM booth

AFM booth

20140919_195843

Our soon to open new brewery!

During the weekend of the September 19th, I spent a good deal of time in Franklinton for Independents’ Day.  On Friday night, I helped out with screen printing at the Alternative Fashion Mob’s booth as they decided how they would run their station for making custom T-shirts to promote Ohio and AFM. Followed by take out from Strongwater and meeting gabbing with a great couple, Loren and Christine who have a relatively new business there in Franklinton…what fun that was!20140920_193801

Then my bestie came to visit on Saturday and we spent our afternoon and early evening there.  So many great vendors, good food, fantastically divergent music and dinner at Strongwater (have I said how much I love that place???)  Once we quenched our thirst and hunger, we headed back out to watch the AFM”S fashion show featuring 9 local designers and their unique fashions.  I sure feel lucky to live in a city that cultivates such divergent independent artists, musicians, businesses, restauranteurs and more!

Last weekend was a gorgeous fall weekend and perfect for Ohio Made at Ohio Historical Village and Chalk the Block at Easton.  My friend and I enjoyed both events on Saturday while celebrating the last vestiges of summer weather.  First we stopped at Ohio Made and explored the vendor booths that were scattered throughout the village.  Besides seeing many folks I already knew selling their wares, I got to meet a couple of lovely ladies from Athens and learned about A.L.P.A.C.A. ( Athens Local Professional Artist & Craftsman Association), one of the town’s art groups.  What a kick it was to finally meet Tina of Tina’s Tiaras and see all of her adorable tiaras and we had a nice talk about what’s happening in the art community down in Southeastern Ohio.  We decided that I need to make a trip to the home of my alma mater, Ohio University, do interviews and make sure to attend their holiday show in December.  20140927_15120120140927_144806

My friend and formerly featured artist, Karen Buoncristiano, (and her hubby, Nick Singer) of Crafty by Nature were vending so we stopped by to say hello and get more of Karen’s Skin Repair cream ( I swear by this stuff!!!).  Besides all of their soaps and lotions, Karen and Nick make beautiful pottery and have introduced some new pieces to their collection.  Check some of them out!

karen potterykaren pottery 2

 

After exploring all of the vendors’ booths, we jumped into my car and headed out to Easton to take in the art being created on the sidewalks surrounding Brio and the fountain.  As always, Chalk the Block showed off the  creative genius of so many people in this city! The colors were  vivid; the creations were unique; the artists amazing!!!  My pictures don’t do the art justice but here they are!20140927_164936chalk collage20140927_164803Sunday was my day to play with creativity at Feather Your Nest In the Olde Village of Pickerington.  I first met the owner of this delightful shop at one of the Columbus Vintage and Arts Marketplace this summer and began following her Facebook page.  When I saw that she was offering a workshop in milk painting techniques. I just had to sign up!20140928_141146What fun to play with this innovative and old time paint.  First, we were introduced to the paint and then we learned on wood pieces how to use it to create one of a kind furniture, frames and anything else that it can be used with…even on laminates!  Not only did I enjoy experimenting but i fell in love with the shop and all of the things vintage and more that they create and sell.

feather collage

Inside Feather Your Nest

my finished products

my finished products

And to top off the weekend, I stopped on my way out of Pickerington to buy a trunk load of pumpkins…what better way to end the first real weekend in fall… I will be sure to find my way back to this little burg!

Now off to the next adventure!  What’s next Columbus?

Leave a Reply

