Busy, Busy!

Unfortunately, I did not get out to the Gallery Hop or any of the openings I featured this weekend BUT I did attend a CAW meeting, met with 2 soon-to-be featured artists and actually, started to clean my studio and created a few things!!!

CAW Meeting at Open Door Studio

CAW Meeting at Open Door Studio

20150204_202303

Devon’s studio with Junctionview’s old sign

The CAW meeting was amazing with lots of info for members,  member Claire Smith presented about her art and then a social time for us to catch up with each other, drink and eat!!  I’m super psyched that we will be having a show in May at OSU’s Urban Art Space Gallery entitled Remnants.  Stay tuned in future posts for details about this show.

That was Monday evening….then Wednesday night I had the pleasure of meeting Wood artisan, Devon Palmer, for a delish dinner at Strongwater Food & Spirits to finish up his interview followed by a trek over to his studio at Columbus Idea Foundry in the snow.  The smell of wood permeated the air and Devon showed me some incredibly beautiful pieces he is currently working on.  You can read about him in the coming weeks–he is definitely a force to be reckoned with in the woodworking field so I’m sure you will enjoy learning more about him.

A preview of a piece crafted from an ash tree and the balustrades that he just made

A preview of a piece crafted from an ash tree and the balustrades that he just made

On Friday, I met with another artist who will be the first in a new series I will be doing featuring emerging artists in the Central Ohio area.  Jes Moore, student at Ohio Dominican University and soon-to-be graduate, and I met at Polaris Mall to finish up her interview while her little guy, Jonah, ran himself ragged!!  I am truly excited about starting this new aspect of my blog because there are so many talented new artists hitting the scene who deserve their due and need to be introduced to all of you.  Check out my blog this week as the finished interview will be a featured.

Jes Moore

Jes Moore

Coming up in the coming weeks will be events, as always, along with interviews with a jewelry artist, Devon Palmer, woodturner, another emerging artist, a corsetry designer, a photographer and so many other phenomenal artists!

I hope you will stop by regularly!

Leave a Reply

