Oh My…Great Art Abounds!

I made it out tonight to see all kinds of art in German Village,  Franklinton and Grandview!  I saw such diversely talented folks’ art work and had a chance to run into several of my fav peeps.  First, I stopped by Teresa Morbitzer of Vintage Vamp‘s studio’s open house and had the chance to catch up with her, her creations, meet her doggie and get lots of hugs from one of my favorite little guys, her son Slane.  I can never be around her jewelry without buying something…got a gorgeous pair of earrings to go with the amazing necklace I bought from her around the holidays.  Check them out…20150413_135802

And if you would like to see her work (and, of course, buy some!!), here is how:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Vintage-vamp/168631383198173?fref=ts OR

https://www.etsy.com/shop/vintagevampjewelry

20150410_194355

From there, I made my way to Franklinton for The Ethical Arts Collective‘s Open House and once again took in Patrick Wayner‘s work in their gallery.  I can’t even begin to tell you how talented this guy is and how unique his works are!

PicMonkey Collage michael bush

Michael Bush’s work

Back up the road to The Vanderelli Room for Michael Bush‘s show.  I LOVED his work and particularly his choice of colors. I seem to be in a blue and green phase right now and his work sure spoke to me.  Not only was his work featured, he collaborated with several other artists (including AJ herself!) to create some unique works.  This show will be at the gallery until      so make a point to head down to Franklinton and take it in ( and I hope I get to interview him soon!)

AJ and Michael's collaborative piece

AJ and Michael’s collaborative piece

20150410_201007

Some of Dwell by Jen Wood

Then, before I left Rich Street, I stopped by 400 Days to take in 2 shows: Dwell: Jen Wood‘s show on the first floor and Joshua James Stewart‘s show on the second floor.  I soooo loved his whimsical creatures that I couldn’t resist!  I got one of his prints and am hoping that his 3-D piece, Buddies, doesn’t sell tonight so I can get it as a perfect compliment to the print! ( and, Joshua has agreed to an interview!) Both of these shows should be taken in ASAP as each artist has a pretty cool way of interpreting their subject matter.

PicMonkey Collage josh stewart

Joshua’s works on display at 400 West Rich (I WANT the Buddies 3-D piece!crocodile and koi)

20150413_135906

The print I purchased from Joshua that will look perfect in Florida!

On the way home, I stopped into Tacocat for Rob Jones‘ solo show.  Wow!  Such an eclectic collection of portraits, masks and sculptures!  I loved his take on several folks I know as super heroes.

PicMonkey Collage anyone

Unfortunately, I didn’t make it out on Saturday ( I HAD to get some cleaning done…ugh!) but I did make it out last night for the CAW (Creative Arts of Women) meeting at The Vanderelli Room…thanks for hosting, AJ!!!  Besides libations and goodies, we discussed several things:  our upcoming show, Remnants, to open in May at the Urban Arts Space, our new treasurer and paying dues, an exciting new program that our steering committee has begun work on (Columbus Open Studios…more about that in the coming months!), 2 other shows that are in the works and, finally, Ruby Harper from GCAC spoke to us about the grants that are available to artists through GCAC.

Ruby Harper from GCAC grants

Ruby Harper from GCAC grants

She was dynamite and explained several of the grant programs, how they work and amounts that can be received by area artists.  She encouraged ALL Columbus artists to contact them with ideas for grants and proposals for other grants (they just instituted a grant program for performing artists after 3 years of receiving requests from them!!!  If you’d like more info, go on their website: http://www.gcac.org/ or contact Ruby directly at rharper@gcac.org.  It was a great way to end the weekend and get me charged up for lots of events in the coming weeks.

Check back in a couple of days and I will share events for the coming weekend…I also hope to have another artist interview posted by the end of the week!

Leave a Reply

